SAUL ESLAKE

Economist

SAUL ESLAKE

‘Welcome to my website …
I’m an independent economist, speaker, company director
and Vice-Chancellor’s Fellow at the University of Tasmania’

Testimonials


What Others Say

“You are the best economic thinker in the country hands down”
Sheryle Bagwell, recently retired Senior Business Correspondent (and sometime Executive Producer),
ABC Radio National Breakfast, September 2020

 

“You are one of the best at what you do in the world”
Gail Fosler, Chief Economist, The Conference Board, New York, December 2002

 

“I have never known an economist to have such a knowledge of world economic facts and to be able to bring to bear so much information in answering a question without notice”
Charles Goode, Chairman, ANZ Bank, July 2009

 

“Saul Eslake is … a highly regarded independent economist with the highest degree of integrity"
John Durie, Columnist, The Australian, July 2009

 

“… one of the few people in this world who can have so many oranges up in the air at the same time but still manage to catch them"
Andrew Clark, journalist, Australian Financial Review, November 2008

 

"I see a lot of chart packs in my line of work, but yours is about the best I have seen. It is amazingly comprehensive, covering far more of the world than any individual is entitled to cover, the charts are clear and easy to understand and they drill down into each topic in a very satisfying way. So well done, Saul."
Alan Kohler, ABC finance presenter, founder of Eureka Report, October 2020

 

"a timely and comprehensive summary from one of Australia's best economists"
Adam Creighton, Economics Editor for The Australian, September 2020

 

“I continue to find you thinking invaluable - this year to my ritual weekend reading of the economist I have happily added ‘Saul’s latest’.”
Rufus Black, former Managing Partner of McKinsey’s, and currently Vice-Chancellor of the University of Tasmania, September 2020

“Your chart pack is amazing - and thanks for offering to add me to the mailing list, that would be great to be included. Everything you could want to know is there - and the way the data are organised and presented to tell the stories makes it so easy to follow.”
Prof Jeff Borland, Truby Williams Professor of Economics, The University of Melbourne, July 2020

 

“Just want to congratulate you Saul on the unbelievably good set of slides you just presented, possibly the best I have ever seen. You have set the bar very high.”
Dr Joe Flood, Adjunct Fellow, RMIT University, July 2020. Pandemicia

 

“Thank you very much for your excellent presentation for the Economic Society today. It is always a great pleasure to hear your eloquent, up-to-date and comprehensive talks.”
Andrew Trembath, economist, Victorian and Australian Government agencies, July 2020

 

“We did appreciate the very considerable effort you devoted to preparing a very comprehensive overview of the Indian economy, contrasting it with China and identifying economic opportunities for Australia”
Prof. Frank Larkins, Chair, International House, University of Melbourne, April 2013

 

“I and my colleagues have appreciated very much your insightful analysis, your objective assessment of economic policy issues and your ability to explain complex economic concepts to the public in simple and easily understood language”
Hon. Simon Crean, Minister for Trade, August 2009

 

“I have never seen anyone - not a politician or another speaker – keep people spellbound for 40 minutes, as you did"
Denise Rowe, 3 Pillars, February 2011

 

“ [A customer] came into the branch today to open a term deposit for $50,000 and whilst I was talking with her she mentioned the reason for transferring her funds from [another bank]. She is very impressed with Saul Eslake not only because he is from Tasmania, but his ability to communicate with ‘real people’ and make it easy for them to understand what is happening in the economy”
Senior Personal Banker, Burnie branch, ANZ, October 2008

 

“the troops at MacarthurCook are still gaping in awe at your command of the global situation”
Patrick O’Leary, October 2007

 

“your presentation was the best that people had ever seen”
Maree Lawson, Australian Stock Exchange, October 2006

 

“It is rare that an economist turns the house alight – you certainly did so at the lunch last week … the breadth of the subject matter and the clarity with which you covered issues of significant complexity was exciting to behold”
David Slessar, National Chairman, Australian British Chamber of Commerce, May 2006

 

“I think the best of the bank economists is Saul Eslake … certainly the one who always seems to be able to put it in language that even morons like myself can understand”
Radio presenter and former Minister Graham Richardson, January 2000

 

“Very good speaker, simplifies finance & economics for a wide audience”
bank representative, August 2016

 

“Presents in a fun, but interesting and relevant manner”
corporate executive, August 2016

 

“… excellent presentation, best session of the day and the reason I travelled four hours each way to attend”
HR professional, 2009

 

“I could have listened to Saul all day – extremely interesting and informative”
accountant, May 2009

PREMIUM ACCESS


WEEKLY CHART PACK


Each weekend since mid-April I’ve been preparing, updating and distributing a weekly Coronavirus Impact Chart Pack to people in Australia and overseas. Running to over 100 pages it includes:

  • charts tracking the spread of Covid-19, globally and in Australia, and government responses to it;
  • the impact on the global economy and major individual economies such as China, Japan, other Asian economies, the US and Europe;
  • financial and commodities markets;
  • multiple aspects of the Australian economy, including state-level comparisons, and the policy responses of the Australian and state or territory governments, and the Reserve Bank of Australia; and
  • similar, though smaller coverage of the New Zealand economy.

The Coronavirus Impact Chart Pack will be updated every Saturday afternoon, Australian time, for as long as it remains topical. It will be accessible to subscribers of the Premium Access package.

If and when Covid-19 ceases to be front and centre of attention (as it is now) – whenever that might be – I will continue to prepare a Weekly Chart Pack, but with a focus on whatever replaces the virus as the issue du jour.

ECONOMIC IMPACT OF THE CORONAVIRUS PANDEMIC
25th October 2020


CORONAVIRUS IMPACT CHART PACK 2020-10-25

"I see a lot of chart packs in my line of work, but yours is about the best I have seen. It is amazingly comprehensive, covering far more of the world than any individual is entitled to cover, the charts are clear and easy to understand and they drill down into each topic in a very satisfying way. So well done, Saul."

Alan Kohler, ABC finance presenter, founder of Eureka Report


"A timely and comprehensive summary from one of Australia's best economists."

Adam Creighton, Economics Editor for The Australian


“I continue to find you thinking invaluable - this year to my ritual weekend reading of the economist I have happily added ‘Saul’s latest’.”

Rufus Black, former Managing Partner of McKinsey’s, and currently Vice-Chancellor of the University of Tasmania


“Your chart pack is amazing - and thanks for offering to add me to the mailing list, that would be great to be included. Everything you could want to know is there - and the way the data are organised and presented to tell the stories makes it so easy to follow.”

Prof Jeff Borland, Truby Williams Professor of Economics, The University of Melbourne, Website


“An excellent summary. Although I take a great interest in what’s happening with COVID-19 day by day In Australia and Internationally, I always find your weekly summary a very interesting review of the past week.”

retired former Chief Executive Officer of a District Hospital Service in New South Wales


WEEKLY CHART PACK

EVENTS

Saul Eslake online presentation


“You are the best economic thinker in the country hands down”

Sheryle Bagwell, recently retired Senior Business Correspondent (and sometime Executive Producer),
ABC Radio National Breakfast


"I see a lot of chart packs in my line of work, but yours is about the best I have seen. It is amazingly comprehensive, covering far more of the world than any individual is entitled to cover, the charts are clear and easy to understand and they drill down into each topic in a very satisfying way.
So well done, Saul."

Alan Kohler, ABC finance presenter, founder of Eureka Report


“I continue to find you thinking invaluable - this year to my ritual weekend reading of the economist I have happily added ‘Saul’s latest’.”

Rufus Black, former Managing Partner of McKinsey’s, and currently Vice-Chancellor of the University of Tasmania


“Your chart pack is amazing - and thanks for offering to add me to the mailing list, that would be great to be included. Everything you could want to know is there - and the way the data are organised and presented to tell the stories makes it so easy to follow.”

Prof Jeff Borland, Truby Williams Professor of Economics, The University of Melbourne, Website


“An excellent summary. Although I take a great interest in what’s happening with COVID-19 day by day In Australia and Internationally, I always find your weekly summary a very interesting review of the past week.”

retired former Chief Executive Officer of a District Hospital Service in New South Wales


“Just want to congratulate you Saul on the unbelievably good set of slides you just presented, possibly the best I have ever seen. You have set the bar very high.”

Dr Joe Flood, Adjunct Fellow, RMIT University, Pandemicia


“Thank you very much for your excellent presentation for the Economic Society today. It is always a great pleasure to hear your eloquent, up-to-date and comprehensive talks.”

Andrew Trembath, economist, Victorian and Australian Government agencies


online events @ saul-eslake.com


NOV

25th

November Monthly Presentation

Topic to be advised

6:00 pm AEDT
3:00 pm Hong Kong | 2:00 pm WIB | 8:00 am CET | 7:00 am London
Include access to Saul's presentation slides and video
TBA

Register


Request Speaking Engagement

COMING UP

Up Coming Speaking Engagements


DEC

7th

State of the Nation

Presentation to the Governance Institute of Australia Virtual National Conference 2020

8:55 am

VIDEO

Recent Presentations


The Impact of Covid-19 series

These videos are available to audience of Saul’s presentations as soon as they are uploaded and will be available to public one month after the presentation date.

See more


TESTIMONIALS

What Others Say


“You are one of the best at what you do in the world”
Gail Fosler, Chief Economist, The Conference Board, New York, December 2002

“I have never known an economist to have such a knowledge of world economic facts and to be able to bring to bear so much information in answering a question without notice”
Charles Goode, Chairman, ANZ Bank, July 2009

“Saul Eslake is … a highly regarded independent economist with the highest degree of integrity"
John Durie, Columnist, The Australian, July 2009

“… one of the few people in this world who can have so many oranges up in the air at the same time but still manage to catch them"
Andrew Clark, journalist, Australian Financial Review, November 2008

Read more

LINKS

Useful Links